Home  Resources   Relinquishing a Pet

IVHS Calendar

IVHS

  • Adopt Today
  • Make a Donation

  • California Spay

  • IVHS Partners

Relinquishing a Pet


Relinquishing a Pet - Owner Release - Surrending Your PET

For many people, surrendering a pet can be emotionally upsetting. Often a pet is surrendered because an owner simply has no choice, or is unaware of resources that can help keep them together with their pet. The Inland Valley Humane Society staff recognize that this is a very difficult time for you and your family. Please know we are here to assist you and to care for your pet if you must surrender. You must schedule an appointment by calling 909-623-9777 ext. 688. Drop off times for your pet are Monday - Friday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm. Together, we may be able to find other alternatives than surrendering your beloved pet.


Your Home or Your Pet?

You don't have to make that choice. The knock on the door from your landlord claiming you have 24 hours to remove your pet can be terrifying. But don't panic  - you have rights! Your landlord or home owners assocation can't just throw you and your pet out on the street. 

  • You can't be evicted overnight. Eviction is a complex legal process. You must be notified every step of the way and be given a chance to tell your side of the story in court. 
  • Your landlord can't go into your apartment and remove your pet or force you out without following the legal process.
  • Even if lease your doesn't specifically allow pets or if you don't even have a lease, you may have a legal right to keep your pet under federal, state or local laws.


        Alternatives to Surrendering Your Pet

        The Inland Valley Humane Society & SPCA may be able to help you keep your pet at home or there may be alternative re-homing options available to you. Please consider the following alternatives before surrendering your pet. What challenges are you facing with your pet? Please click the links below to learn about resources that may assist you with keeping your pet. Please be advised that we can only take your pet if you live within our service area and you have tried every resource available to you before contacting us. Thank you.

        This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

        Here is a list of rescue groups to help rehome your pet.

        A Passion For Paws Rescue Akita Rescue www.apassionforpaws.org

        A Wish For Animals www.awishforanimals.org

        Abby Animal Sanctuary

        Ace of Hearts www.aceofheartsdogs.com

        Adopt Me Rescue www.adoptmerescue.org

        Akita Angels Inc. www.akitaangels.org

        All Breed Rescue www.allbreeddogrescue.org

        All Breed Rescue Little Angels Pug Rescue www.pugrescuenetwork.com

        All Paws Rescue Rehab & Education www.allpawsrescue-rehab.org

        Almost Home Dachshund Rescue www.almosthomerescue.org

        Alura Always and Forever Pekingese Rescue www.alurapekingese.com

        Animal Advocates Alliance info@animaladvocatesalliance

        Ara Canine Rescue Inc. www.alleysrescuedangels.org

        Arizona Humane Society www.azhumane.org

        Aussie Rescue & ARPH Inc. www.aussierescue.org

        Barks of Love www.barksoflove.org

        Basset Rescue Connection www.daphneyland.com

        Best Friends Animal Society www.bestfriends.org

        Bichon FurKids Rescue www.bichonfurkids.org

        Bichon Rescue Brigade www.bichonrescuebrigade.org

        Bichons and Buddies www.bichonsandbuddies.com

        Big Dawgs Rescue www.bigdawgsrescue.org

        Border Collie Rescue www.bcrescue.net

        Boston Buddies www.bostonbuddies.org

        Boxer Rescue Los Angeles www.boxer-rescue-la.com

        Bunny Bunch www.bunnybunch.org

        California Labrador Retrievers and More www.labsandmore.org

        California Miniature www.msfrescue.org

        California Turtle & Tortise Club www.tortoise.org

        Chow Chow Rescue of Sierra Foothill www.chowchowrescue.org

        Coast to Coast Dachshund Rescue www.c2cdr.org

        Coastal German Shepherd Rescue www.coastalgsr.org

        Cute Odyssey Inc. www.cuteodyssey.org

        Dalmation Rescue www.dalrescuesocal.com

        Doberman Pinscher Rescue www.dobiesandlittlepawsrescue.org

        Doggie Rescue Services www.dpsrescue.org

        Dogue De Bordeaux Rescue Inc. www.ddbrescue.org

        English Springer Rescue America www.springerrescue.org

        Fetching Companions Retriever Rescue www.fetchingcompanions.org

        Friends for Pets Foundation Weimeraner Rescue www.friendsforpets.org

        Furry Angel Foundation http://thefurryangelfoundation.org/

        German Shepherd Rescue www.gsrescue.org

        German Shepherd Rescue of Orange County www.gsroc.org

        Golden Retriever Club of Greater Los Angeles www.grcgla.org

        Gone to the Dogs Rescue Inc. www.gonetothedogsrescue.org

        Great Pyrenees Assoc of Southern California www.greatpyrrescue.org

        Grey Save www.greysave.org

        Hand in Paw www.handinpawrescue.com

        Heart Bandits / American Eskimo www.heartbandits.com

        Homeward Bound Golden Retriever Rescue of So. Cal www.homewardboundgoldens.org

        Humane Society of Central Oregon www.hsco.org

        I C A R E Rescue www.icaredogrescue.org

        I Dog Rescue International www.idogrescue.com

        Independent Labrador Retriever Rescue of So. Cal. www.indilabrescue.org

        Italian Greyhound Club of America www.italiangreyhound.org

        It's The Pits www.itsthepits.rescuegroups.org

        Karma Rescue www.karmarescue.org

        Lab and Friends www.labradorsandfriends.org

        Labrador Rescue www.labrescuers.org

        Lhasa Happy Homes www.lhasahappyhomes.org

        Linda Blair World Heart Foundation www.lindablairworldheart.org

        Maltese Rescue California www.malteserescuecalifornia.org

        Miniature Schnauzer Club of Southern California www.mscsc.org

        National Brittany Rescue www.nbran.org

        New Beginnings for Animals www.greatpets.org

        OC Pound Hounds Small Breed Rescue www.ocpoundhounds.com

        Old English Sheepdog Rescue www.oesrescue.com

        One Dog Rescue www.1dogrescue.com

        Paw Protectors www.pawprotectors.org

        Perfect Pet Rescue www.perfectpetrescue.com

        Pet Adoption Fund www.petadoptionfund.org

        Poodles and Pals of Southern California www.poodlesandpals.com

        Poopie Foundation www.thepoopiefoundation.com

        Pug Rescue of San Diego www.pugsandiego.com

        Pugs N Pals pugsnpals.blogspot.com

        Rabbit Rescue Inc. www.rabbitrescue.com

        Ratbone Rescuers www.ratbonerescues.com

        Rescue Alliance www.rescuealliance.org

        Rhodesian Ridgeback Rescue www.ridgebackrescue.org

        Russell Rescue Inc. www.russellrescue.com

        Sachi Animal Rescue www.sachianimalrescue.com

        Sally's Rescue Inc. www.sallysrescue.com

        Samoyed Rescue www.socalsamoyedrescue.org

        Santa Fe Humane Society www.sfhumanesociety.org

        Saving Shibas Inu www.savingshibasinc.org

        So Cal Lab Ret Rescue www.sclrr.org

        Southern California Abyssinian Rescue www.socaabyrescue.com

        Southern California Bulldog Rescue www.socalbulldogrescue.org

        Southern California Dachshund Relief www.scdr.org

        Southern California Golden Retriever Rrescue www.scgrrescue.org

        Southern California Newfoundland Rescue www.newfclubofsocal.com

        Southern California Pomeranian Rescue www.southerncaliforniapomeranianrescue.org

        Southern California Shibu Inu Rescue, Inc. www.shibainurescue.org

        Southland Collie Rescue www.collie.org

        Southland Sheltie Rescue www.southlandsheltierescue.org

        St Martin's Animal Foundation www.stmartinsrescue.org

        Sunny Saints Saint Bernard Rescue www.sunnysaints.org

        Tails of the City Animal Rescue www.tailsofthecityrescue.com

        Take Me Home www.takemehome.tv

        The Fuzzy Pet Foundation www.fuzzyrescue.org

        The Loved Dog Foundation www.theloveddog.com

        The Loved World Foundation www.thelovefoundation.com

        The Milo Foundation www.milofoundation.org

        Thumping Tails Animal  Rescue www.thumpingtails.org

        Treasured Canine Tails Rescue www.treasuredtailsrescue.com

        West Coast Boxer Rescue www.westcoastboxerrescue.org

        West End Shelter for Animals www.westendshelter.com

        Westie Rescue www.westierescueca.com

        Westside German Shepherd www.sheprescue.org

        WHAR Wolf Rescue www.whar.org

        Where Wolves Rescue www.wolfcountry.com

        Wolfdog Rescue www.wolfdogrescue.net

        Woods Humane Society www.woodshumanesociety.org

        Yorkshire Terrier National Rescue www.yorkierescue.com