No I.D. No Way Home.
To our supporters: Like all of you, we are taking every step necessary to prevent the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19). Along with following the Center of Disease Control’s (CDC) guidelines on how to prevent the spread of the virus, we urge all of our visitors to adhere to these guidelines as well.
For those who need to pay for their pet license(s), we encourage you to do so on on this page under the “License your Pet Online” tab to minimize traffic at our shelter and the potential for exposure. Stay safe & healthy!
The Inland Valley Humane Society & S.P.C.A. monitors the licensing/rabies control program for residents living in contracted cities. Less than 1% of the animals that are rescued from the streets and temporarily placed into our animal shelter have some form of I.D. on them. Licensing your pet is mandatory by law for all dogs over 4 months in the state of California (please read this section below).
The Licensing Department may be contacted at 909-623-9777 Monday – Saturday from 8:00 AM – 5:30 PM, Wednesdays 8:00 AM- 7:00 PM.
The Inland Valley Humane Society & S.P.C.A. provides the following cities and county areas with services to license their dog: Chino, Chino Hills, Claremont, Covina, Diamond Bar, Glendora, La Verne, Montclair, Mt. Baldy, Ontario, Pomona, San Antonio Heights, San Dimas, Unincorporated cities (Chino, Chino Hills, Ontario, & Montclair)
Please Note: If a new rabies vaccination certificate is required at the time of renewal, you MUST provide that certificate when making your payment. Any rabies certificate submitted MUST have at least 6 months remaining of it’s duration. Spay or neuter certificates must be signed by a licensed veterinarian. For those applying for the Senior Citizen discount, a copy of your I.D. must be submitted.
YOU WILL RECEIVE YOUR LICENSE IN THE MAIL ONCE IT HAS BEEN COMPLETED. PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT LICENSING FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE OR TRANSFERABLE.
If you have a current renewal notice that states a different amount than the fees listed for your city, please contact our office at (909) 623-9777.
**We encourage all pet owners to consider having pets spayed/neutered so you can qualify for the lower altered rate**
Choose your city
**Licensing payments can also be completed over the phone at (909) 623 – 9777**
Licensing Safety Measures:
- Hours of operation (Monday – Saturday 8:00 AM – 5:30 PM, Wednesday 8:00 AM – 7:00 PM).
- A limited number of gusts will be allowed into our Front Office at one time.
- No more than 2 people meeting a Customer Service Representative per visit.
- All visitors must wear a mask regardless of vaccination status.
Licenses are valid from time of purchase from one to two years. PLEASE NOTE THIS EXCEPTION: If your rabies expires, so does your license. The Inland Valley Humane Society & S.P.C.A. assists dog owners with getting a reduced fee rabies vaccine for their furry companion by holding vaccination clinics on the shelter premises. See the calendar for more detailed clinic information.
In the state of California, every dog that is over the age of 4 months must be vaccinated against rabies and have a current license.
Many dog owners purchase I.D. tags for their animals and believe this is the only form of identification needed. While an I.D. tag is optional, it is required by city and state mandates that each dog (and cat in some cities) be issued and wear a valid license. The difference between an I.D. tag and a license is that and I.D. tag simply has the name of the animal, a contact phone number for the owner, and possibly the address. A license has the number of the local humane society where the dog is registered, and a numbered code. If someone finds your dog, they call the humane society and report the number. The humane society can look up the information in the computer and determine all important contact information for the owner including address, phone number and whether the dog has a current rabies vaccination. A license also proves your pet has been vaccinated for rabies and the ID does not. Failure to have a licensed dog on your property over the age of 4 months will result in additional fees.
A senior citizen is a pet owner over 65 years of age
(60 years in Diamond Bar).
An altered pet has been spayed or neutered.